John Fauvel Cup 

This page describes the John Fauvel Cup for the Table Topics Speech Contest.

The John Fauvel Cup was first awarded in 1974 for the Impromptu Speech Contest, which was last held in 1999. That Speech Contest was replaced by the Table Topics Contest and thus the trophy was transferred.

John A. Fauvel, DTM is a Toastmaster of renown not only in New Zealand, but the world. In 1963, John joined the Auckland Toastmasters Club. This marked the beginning of many years of dedicated service to Toastmasters International. Locally, nationally and internationally John has given freely of his time and his skills. 

Between 1974 and 1979 John served as President of Auckland Toastmasters Club, Area Governor, Division Governor, Administration Lieutenant Governor, Education Lieutenant Governor and District Governor. During 1980-1982 he was elected to the Board of Directors of Toastmasters International as the first Director outside of North America (Director at Large), representing Toastmasters in New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, Great Britain and Ireland.

2016 Winner

Table Topics Winner - Peter Harrington, Division D
Table Topics Winner - Peter Harrington, Division D, with Norbert Lee DTM (left) and Sarah Bate DTM (Right).


2015 Winner

Table Topics Contest winners.
3rd Peter Scholtens, 1st Christine Livingstone, and 2nd Stephen Budai.


2014 Winner

John Fauvel Cup for Table Topics Contest.

John Leadbetter CTM (Centre) with Contest Chairman (left) and District Governor Kingsley Moody DTM (right).