Presidential Citations

This page lists recent Presidential Citations awarded by the Toastmasters International President to Toastmasters in District 72. 

Receiving a Presidential Citation is an exceptional and rare honour. Only a limited number of Presidential Citations are awarded worldwide each year. In the forty-three years up to 2015, only 23 District 72 Toastmasters have received this award.

2008 Recipient - Joy Ackrill, DTM


Joy Ackrill receiving a Presidential Citation from International President Chris Ford, August 2008

Image: Joy Ackrill receiving a Presidential Citation from International President Chris Ford, August 2008

Past Distinguished District Governor Joy Ackrill, DTM, has been awarded one of Toastmasters' highest honours. The special Presidential Citation is awarded in recognition of Joy's outstanding achievements toward the goals and ideals of Toastmasters International and was presented to her by International President Chris Ford, DTM, at our 77th Annual Convention in Calgary, Canada in August 2008.

Joy is quite literally an outstanding representative of Toastmasters and has been a power of strength and guidance in all her years as a New Zealand Toastmaster. She continues with the same vigor and energy today as she has always done with both members of her Clubs and with the District 72 Officers. She has always been there to show some of the less experienced Toastmasters what it is to be a Toastmaster and how that can change their lives for the better. She is also there for more experienced Toastmasters as a leader of impeccable respect and wisdom.

She believes in and maintains the Mission of both Toastmasters International and of the District. She is always available for guidance at both Club and District levels. Her family has shown her huge support and often accompanies her to District Training and Meetings.

An amazing accomplishment was when Joy was elected as District 72 Lieutenant-Governor Marketing in May 2000 and moved to Lieutenant-Governor Education & Training in September 2000 due to the unexpected and sudden unavailability of the elected LGET. Joy went on to grow District 72 to become a Distinguished District for the first time in three years.

Once, whilst on holiday with her family in the north of New Zealand, a local radio station heard she was in the area and asked her for an interview. She accepted and gave an hour long interview about Toastmasters and the benefits of membership. There are many, many stories like this about Joy. She is always willing to go the extra distance to publicise and promote Toastmasters.

Joy has supported and guided many District Officers and has an intimate understanding of Toastmaster's proceedings. She is encouraging, understanding and not afraid to challenge us to strive for and achieve even more success for the members of New Zealand Toastmasters. She embodies the title Distinguished Toastmaster and her unselfish achievements, time and effort are truely appreciated by her fellow members.

2005 Recipients Glen Murphy and Dale Hartle

Two New Zealand Toastmasters were awarded Presidential Citations at the Toastmasters International Convention in Toronto in August 2005. Citations are awarded by the International President for outstanding services to Toastmasters.

Glen Murphy, a Past International Director and Past District 72 Governor receiving a Presidential Citation from International President Greiner, DTM.

Dale Hartle, DTM, receiving a Presidential Citation from Hon Peter Dunne, MP, at the Division E Conference on Saturday 1 October 2005 for outstanding service to Toastmasters.